Breathing Neon (Beta)

Breathe Neon, Breathe Life!

A smile on that face

Posted by Kavin on December 5, 2008


In recent times, I have been fascinated by many astronomical happenings. Thanks to Inc and Vivek who keeps me updated on the wonderful happenings.

The meteor showers :

Though I didn’t witness it, it was a wonderful experience. It happened on the day before my DSP semester exam. It was November 17, 2008 04:00 IST. I woke up due to a series of messages from my friend Inc asking me to wake up. The previous day, he had sent a message (to all of his friends) to watch the sky from 3 am to 6 am – to watch the meteor shower leonids. I read the messages from Inc that he had spotted two meteors already. Just two meteors? I thought. I looked out of the window and saw just a peaceful sky promising a good night sleep. But as my friend insisted me to go upstairs, I woke up my sister and we both headed to the terrace. We both watched the clouds passing by, lot of planes making its journey and even some stars (I remember seeing Regulus (Thanks to the phone call with Inc, who provided me with all the information)) but never did we witness any meteor showers. Inc, determined to watch a few more, waited for an hour more and witnessed altogether five plus meteors.

Sprinkle of Glitters:

It was November 28, 2008 23:30 IST. There was no power in my house for two days due to the heavy rains that showered its blessings (maybe a bit too much blessing turned out to be a curse). I heard that the rains will finally stop that night. I went to the back door and looked up at the east sky to check whether the sky is clear. Something weird struck my eyes. The sky was indeed clear and the clouds had moved away to reveal the moon and the stars, which seemed to me that I saw them ages ago. What was weird was that the stars were extremely bright! It was as if someone had sprinkled silver glitters all over the sky. Towards the eastern horizon, I saw a bright star that was shining blue. I looked above and saw a series of stars and immediately guessed that I was seeing a constellation. It had three stars in the middle with stars stretching diagonally at its edges. They were all bright. I wished I had taken a photo of that night sky. Two days later, I learnt from Inc that what I saw was the constellation Orion, which was the brightest one, and the three stars in the middle was called as the Orion belt.

A smile on that face:

It was December 1, 2008 19:00 IST. Inc had already told me to watch the sky for a glimpse of Venus and Jupiter very close to each other. That evening, I was online and Vivek reminded me to go and look at the sky in the west. When I asked him what it was, he told that there is a smile. I immediately went up and searched for the crescent moon. I found it in the south-west and just above the crescent moon, there were Venus and Jupiter forming two eyes and the entire thing looked like a face with a smile. The clouds had made the planets look dull but seeing the sky smile at you was an amazing sight. The following pic is taken from Vivek’s blog.
UFO sighted!!!

Yes, Unidentified Flying Object!!! I couldn’t believe I saw one. It was December 5,2008. I went and opened the back door of my house and looked at the sky. To my shock, I saw a round shaped white object moving slowly and steadily. It was like a space shuttle and had a typical shape of a UFO. I immediately took my mobile and recorded the movements of the UFO as it went past my house. The lights below the UFO was clearly visible. Did I forget to tell you at what time I saw it? I was some time between 02:00 to 04:00. Ofcourse in my dreams! šŸ˜‰

16 Responses to “A smile on that face”

  1. Nithya Pari said

    oh! ok

    On a serious note, Inc and vivek are the Astro Geeks! I’m very Jealous of them!:p šŸ™‚ Hopefully, I will be the Astro Queen soon! :p
    I call the Orion belt, triple star. Known it right from 10th std! You know what I got when I was looking at sky at 4 in the morning for meteor showers? ! A series of B! You too got the same. k?
    UFO Sighted! was funny.
    šŸ˜› I saw a real UFO. But I’m sure no one is going to believe me, especially Inc.

  2. willtorule said

    My god everyone is turning into an astronomer soon… Even DADA i guess :p… Well Nit if you saw anything flying and you were not able to identify it, then surely it is a UFO, after all an UFO is an Unidentified Flying Object… :p

  3. Kavin said

    @ Nithya

    Yes, they are indeed the astro geeks… I never knew about Orion Belt… I know u got bulbs… :p even my sis claims to have seen a real UFO… I dunno whether to believe… lolz

  4. Kavin said

    @ Hari

    Ha ha ha… really funny… I just made one post abuot astronomy… Inc and Vivek are posting a series of posts… lolz… they are the astro geeks as Nithya said… :p

  5. Vivek said

    the ufo thing…hardy har har…:lol:
    i saw a real ufo…just like my sis nithya did!

  6. Vivek said

    i saw an ufo… no one believed me saw a handful of people..

  7. Kavin said

    @ Vivek

    ha ha ha ha… and I thought my jokes are bad (excerpt from Dark Knight movie. dialogue by Joker šŸ˜› )

    anyway, even I wish u had seen a real UFO… I even wish that u had taken a photo or video of it… lolz

  8. Vivek said

    i SAW A REAL ufo dude….i know what it is i saw…and i am happy tht i saw it!

  9. Kavin said

    @ Vivek

    as once a great philosopher (Hari) said, “whatever an unknown object is flying, it is called as unidentified flying object”

    It best fits in ur category!!! šŸ˜›

  10. Vijay said

    thu nonsense,….

  11. Vijay said

    *nonsense* – comment is for ur UFO sighting story,. and the smiling face and other posts are good one actually

  12. Kavin said

    @ Vijay

    ha ha… that UFO was a joke… anyway the incident did really occur in my dreams…

  13. Karthikeyan.M.S said

    i m reminded of the movie Men In black .. a mention will be made to orion’s belt .. they’ll be searching the constellation orion but in the end it’ll be belt of the cat named orion !

  14. Kavin said

    @ Karthikeyan

    I have seen that movie but I don’t remember that scene although it seems familiar…

  15. Dhilipkumar said

    ha ha ha That mit not be UFO kavin!
    may be Satellite revolving the earth! šŸ™‚

  16. Kavin said

    @ Dhilip

    in dream, anything is possible Dhilip… šŸ˜› it was an UFO… lolz

Leave a comment